NOthingyoumissed

George Mauer is on the Net

New Years Resolutions

Ok, so just like everyone else in the universe I’m posting some resolutions on my blog.  The first and most obvious if you look at the dates of my previous posts is to blog more.  A heck of a lot more.  I’m aiming for once a week.  Nothing intense, I’m no Steve Yegge and I don’t have all that much to say but I do have some thoughts that I need to start writting down and I do need to practice my writting. 

That being said, some career development-oriented resolutions:

  • Attend at least one professional – preferably an ALT.Net centered – conference.  Got to figure out which one first.
  • Learn about continuous integration and how to use a build system.  I am thinking NANT, CruiseControl.NET or TFS.  I just want to be able to build all these awesome open source projects so that I can…
  • …read other people’s code.  For all my complaining of being a lonely developer working in a godawful architecture I certainly make few enough attempts to connect with well written code.
  • Learn more about dynamic languages.  I have spent plenty of time in the PHP world and I’ve got to say, I just don’t get it.  Yes some tasks can be done with slightly less code, but you have to give up such IDE luxuries like Intellisense and automatic refactoring.  With all the chatter lately of Ruby and with IronRuby 71% complete maybe I’ll try my hand at that. 
  • Javascript.  Find an excuse to get beyond the basics.  I think it is a language with much to teach me and I want to learn.  It doesn’t hurt that JQuery as about as awesome as can be.
  • Learn more about .NET internals and the CLR.  I would love to be able to get a deep enough understanding to design my own language – not that I have any intention of doing something so crazy.

January 1, 2009 Posted by | Album | Leave a comment